Startup: legal aspects

Every startup company needs to consider and plan a number of things in its activities to plan the future of the company and reduce the headache for its founders.

Below is a list of the most important aspects to consider when building a startup.

1. Agreement between partners

As of 2019, the legislation provides for the possibility of entering into collective bargaining agreements. A collective bargaining agreement is an agreement between the members of a company that establishes the procedure for exercising their corporate rights and powers as well as the conditions and procedure for selling corporate rights (for example, tag along right (the right of a member to sell his share together with the share of another member), drag along right (the right to demand that minority members sell their share when selling their share).

This includes the distribution of shares in the company in the future, roles and functions in the company, incidents affecting the increase or decrease of shares, the creation of special funds for company development, etc.

Why is this important? When raising an investment, prospective investors also evaluate the structure of the agreements between the current shareholders of the company regarding their shares, as well as the changes in the shares after the entry of the new shareholders into the company.

2. Options

An option is an agreement between the company and the employee, according to which the employee receives the right to buy a certain number of shares in the company upon achievement of the agreed performance indicators in the company.

The option is the best example of win-win for the parties: the company receives a motivated employee, who is interested in the development of the company, and the employee understands his value and the prospects of his work in the company.

Especially useful is the use of options for start-ups, when there is not enough investment, and qualified workers are needed.

The conditions for an employee to receive the right to use an option are:

– achievement of a KPI in the activity;

– Duration of employment with the company (for example, after 2 years of employment the employee is entitled to acquire 50% of the option, after 5 years – 100%).

However, maintenance of the option system requires additional administrative expenses both for the company and the employee (reporting, conducting changes in information, processing sales, etc.). A simpler form is an agreement under which the company pays the employee a bonus (it can have a expressed explicit amount or a percentage of monthly income, or the equivalent of the value of the company at the time the KPI is met) when the employee achieves the KPI.

3. Personal information

The best way to avoid problems is to take care of them early. In Ukraine, because of weak legislation and minimal liability, companies are not used to thinking about the procedures for collecting, processing and storing personal data. But if a company plans to operate in developed markets, in order to avoid heavy fines, it is necessary to create personal data policies.

Attention should be paid to GDPR (personal data regulations in EU countries) and CCPA (California state personal data regulations).

When developing the policy paper, you need to understand 1) which rules apply in the case of your company; 2) which data is processed and what its nature is; 3) what is the purpose of the data; 4) how long is the data stored; 5) whether personal data is transferred to third countries; whether users are properly informed about the collection of their data; 7) whether data protection officers are required, 8) whether a risk assessment needs to be coordinated with the European Data Protection Board (EDPB).

4. Protection of confidential information

After the development of products/programs, algorithms of work, formation of the client base, it is necessary to properly protect confidential information. If this information is disclosed – the value of the company will be reduced.

Another side of the need to implement – to guarantee the contractors that the information they pass to your company does not fall into the hands of third parties.

Non-Disclosure of Confidential Information (NDA) agreement. This type of contract serves to define confidential information, the boundaries of the use of this information, the responsibility for breach of confidentiality. The contract is signed with employees, contractors. Also, relevant confidentiality clauses may be specified in the section in the main contracts.

Confidential information protection clause. While the NDA regulates the bilateral relationship between the company and the employee, the Regulation regulates the system of confidential data protection in the company as a whole. In particular, regarding information with limited access, defining the means of control over the circulation of confidential data, establishing restrictions and rules for the transfer of information.

5. Intellectual property

Intellectual property rights are a major asset for startups, so protecting these rights needs to be taken care of especially carefully.

Actions to protect intellectual property rights can be divided into two parts, depending on the origin of the intellectual property:

1. Intellectual property for trademarks (name, image).

To increase the valuation of the company, this category of rights should be registered to the company, because few people will want to buy/invest in a startup that does not own the trademark it uses. If the startup plans to scale in other markets – it is necessary to register the trademark in those countries in advance, or register the international trademark.

2. Intellectual property rights on developments, products, software codes.

Ownership of this category of rights is fixed in contracts with employees (employment contracts, gig-contracts, contracts with FLPs), and/or outsourcing and out staff companies. What you need to pay attention to in these contracts:

  • the moment of acquiring intellectual property rights by the company;
  • the moment of transfer-acceptance of the services provided;
  • clearly define the scope and content of confidential information.

In addition, the trademark registration of the name/image of the startup to the legal entity, the product/software/game developed, will help to increase the startup’s valuation.

6. Forms of relations with employees

There are two main ways of cooperation with employees: concluding contracts with employees as an FLP and hiring them as employees of the company (employment contract). Both have advantages and disadvantages. The advantages of cooperation with employees as sole proprietors are usually lower taxation (sole proprietors of group 3 pay only 5% of income and unified social tax in the amount of 22% of the minimum wage), simpler mechanisms of termination of cooperation with employees. The disadvantages are the possibility of obtaining a fine for hidden labor relations (more than 100 thousand UAH) and reduction of the value of the company when evaluating it. The advantage of employment contracts is the sense of security when the State Labor Inspectorate checks the existence of hidden employment relationships, the possibility of holding the employee liable for the material damage caused. The disadvantages of employment contracts are the significant difficulty of terminating the employment relationship with the employee and the higher tax rate compared to FLPs.

Since 2022 companies which are residents of the legal regime Diia.City may use the third type of contractual relations with employees in their activities — gig-contracts. This is a mix between contracts with sole proprietors and labor contracts. Thus, the taxation rate of gig-contracts is similar to that of FLPs + 1.5% of the military fee, employees are enrolled in the staff of the company, it is easier to terminate contractual relations with them, there is an opportunity to use additional guarantees for non-competitive actions of the employee.

Svyatoslav Lindyuk, an attorney with Patriot.Legal’s Litigation Representation and Corporate Law practice

Similar publications
18 August 2022
Coming soon
This material is being prepared for publication.
Read more
Need legal help? Sign up for a free preliminary consultation
We contact you, identify needs and form a work plan.

Стартап: юридичні аспекти

Каждой компании-стартапу в своей деятельности необходимо учесть и спланировать ряд моментов, позволяющих планировать будущее компании и уменьшить головную боль ее учредителям.

Ниже представлен список самых главных аспектов, которые необходимо учитывать в построении стартапа.

1. Договоренность между партнерами

С 2019 года законодательством предусмотрена возможность заключать коллективные договоры. Коллективный договор – договор между участниками компании, устанавливающий порядок реализации своих корпоративных прав и полномочий, а также условия и порядок продажи корпоративных прав (например, tag along right (право участника продать свою долю вместе с долей другого участника), drag along right ( право требования к миноритарным участникам продать свою долю при продаже своей доли).

Сюда относятся распределение долей в компании в будущем, роли и функции в компании, происшествия, влияющие на увеличение либо уменьшение долей, создание особых фондов развития компании и т.п.

Почему это важно? При привлечении инвестиций будущие инвесторы также оценивают структуру договоренностей между текущими участниками компании относительно их доли, а также изменения долей после вхождения в компанию новых участников.

2. Опционы

Опционом является соглашение между компанией и работником, согласно которому работник получает право выкупа определенного количества акций компании по достижении договоренных показателей работы в компании.

Опцион является наилучшим примером win-win для сторон: компания получает мотивированного работника, заинтересованного в развитии компании, а работник понимает свою ценность и перспективность своей работы в компании.

Особенно полезно использование опционов именно для стартапов, когда инвестиций еще не достаточно, а квалифицированные работники нужны.

Условиями получения работником права использования опциона:

  • достижение KPI в деятельности;
  • продолжительность работы в компании (например, после 2-х лет работы работник имеет право приобрести 50% опциона, после 5 лет -100%).

Однако обслуживание системы опционов требует дополнительных административных расходов как для компании, так и для работника (отчетность, проведение изменений сведений, оформление продаж и т.п.). Более простой формой является договор, по которому по достижении работником KPI компания выплачивает ему бонус (может иметь выраженные четкие суммы или процент от месячного дохода, или эквивалент стоимости компании на момент выполнения KPI).

3. Персональные данные

Лучший способ избежать проблем – позаботиться о них раньше времени. В Украине, из-за слабого законодательства и минимальной ответственности, компании не привыкли думать о процедурах сбора, обработки и хранения персональных данных. Но если компания планирует работать на развитых рынках, чтобы избежать больших штрафов, необходимо создать политики персональных данных.

Следует обратить внимание на GDPR (правила персональных данных в странах ЕС) и CCPA (правила персональных данных штата Калифорния).

При разработке policy paper нужно понимать 1) какие правила применяются в случае вашей компании; 2) какие данные обрабатываются и каков их характер; 3) какова их цель; 4) срок хранения данных; 5) передают ли персональные данные в третьи страны; надлежащее ли уведомление пользователей о сборе их данных, 7) требуется ли data protection officer, 8) нужно ли согласовывать с European Data Protection Board (EDPB) проведения оценки рисков.

4. Защита конфиденциальной информации

После разработки продуктов/программ, алгоритмов работы, формирования клиентской базы необходимо надлежащим образом осуществлять защиту конфиденциальной информации. Если эта информация будет разглашена – ценность компании будет уменьшена.

Другая сторона необходимости внедрения – гарантировать контрагентам, что переданная ими в вашу компанию информация не попадет в третьи лица.

Договор о неразглашении конфиденциальной информации (NDA). Этот тип договора служит для определения конфиденциальной информации, границы использования этой информации, ответственность за нарушение конфиденциальности. Контракт заключается с работниками, контрагентами, подрядчиками. Также соответствующие пункты конфиденциальности могут указываться в разделе в основных договоров.

Положение о защите конфиденциальной информации. Если NDA регулирует двусторонние отношения между компанией и сотрудником, то Положение регулирует систему защиты конфиденциальных данных в компании в целом. В частности, относительно информации, имеющей ограниченный доступ, определение средств контроля за оборотом конфиденциальных данных, установление ограничений и правил передачи информации.

5. Интеллектуальная собственность

Для стартапов основным активом являются права интеллектуальной собственности, поэтому о защите этих прав заботиться нужно особенно тщательно.

Действия по защите прав интеллектуальной собственности можно разделить на две части в зависимости от происхождения интеллектуальной собственности:

1. Интеллектуальная собственность на торговые марки (наименование, изображение).

Для увеличения оценки компании данную категорию прав следует регистрировать на компанию, ведь немногие захотят покупать/инвестировать в стартап, которой не принадлежат используемая ей торговая марка. Если стартап планирует масштабироваться на других рынках – необходимо регистрировать торговую марку в этих странах заранее, или регистрировать международную торговую марку.

2. Права интеллектуальной собственности на разработки, продукты, программные коды.

Собственность на данную категорию прав фиксируются в договорах с наемными работниками (трудовыми договорами, гиг-контрактами, договорами с ФЛПами), и/или аутсорс и аутстаф компаниями. На что нужно обращать внимание в этих договорах:

  • момент обретения прав интеллектуальной собственности компанией;
  • момент передачи-принятия оказанных услуг;
  • четко определить объем и содержание конфиденциальной информации.

Помимо этого, увеличению оценки стартапа будет способствовать регистрация торговой марки названия/изображения стартапа на юридическое лицо, разработанный продукт/программу/игру.

6. Формы отношений с работниками

Существует два основных способа сотрудничества с работниками: заключение договоров с работниками как ФЛП и найм их в штат компании (трудовой договор). Оба имеют как преимущества, так и недостатки. Преимуществом сотрудничества с работниками как с ФЛПами обычно является меньшее налогообложение (ФЛП 3-й группы единого налога уплачивают только 5% от дохода и единый социальный взнос в размере 22% от минимальной заработной платы), более простые механизмы прекращения сотрудничества с работниками. Недостатком является возможность получить штраф за скрытые трудовые отношения (более 100 тыс.грн.), уменьшение стоимости компании при ее оценке. Преимуществом трудовых договоров являются чувство безопасности при проверке Гоструда относительно наличия скрытых трудовых отношений, возможность привлечения работника к ответственности за причиненный материальный ущерб. Недостатком трудовых отношений являются существенная сложность прекращения трудовых отношений с работником и большая ставка налогообложения по сравнению с ФЛПами.

С 2022 года компании, являющиеся резидентами правового режима Дія. Сіті могут в своей деятельности использовать третий тип договорных отношений с работниками – гиг-контракты. Это микс между договорами с ФЛПами и трудовыми договорами. Так, ставка налогообложения гиг-специалистов аналогична, что и в ФЛПах + 1,5% военного сбора, работники зачисляются в штат компании, с ними легче прекратить договорные отношения, есть возможность использования дополнительных гарантий по неконкурентным действиям работника.

Адвокат практики судебного представительства и корпоративного права Patriot.Legal Линдюк Святослав

Схожі публікації
18 Серпня 2022
Індустріальні парки: нова можливість для розвитку бізнесу
Протягом тривалого проміжку часу різні уряди намагалися реанімувати правовий інститут індустріальних парків, які виконували суто декларативну форму та фактично ніяк...
Докладніше
25 Лютого 2020
Як відкрити кальянну?
Для того щоб відкрити кальянну, для початку вам необхідно зареєструватись суб’єктом підприємницької діяльності. Найкращим варіантом для Вас буде обрати організаційно-правову форму...
Докладніше
Потрібна юридична допомога? Запишись на безкоштовну попередню консультацію
Ми зв'язуємося з вами, виявляємо потреби та формуємо план робіт.